Pocketbook costs of software

I have always been provided SAS as part of my job, so I never really realized how much it cost. I’ve bought Stata before, and of course R :). I recently found out how much a reasonable bundle of SAS modules along with base SAS costs per year per seat, at least under the GSA. I tried finding out how much IBM SPSS is for a comparable bundle, but their web page was “not available”. Stata costs in the ballpark of \$1700 (for a permanent license of Stata/SE) or \$845 for an annual license. SAS costs over 5 times that per seat for similar functionality (Ouch!!). R, with its quirks but with similar if not enhanced functionality in a lot of areas, is of course, freely downloadable.

Matlab is another software I’ve bought as part of my job. For a reasonable bundle, in an academic setting, it is close to $3000. Of course, here it’s a bit easier to pick and choose, since I don’t need most of the modules which are of more interest to engineers.

Related

comments powered by Disqus